Crops Circles and Medicine Wheels

I was browsing through a fascinating book – Sacred Places of a Lifetime – when I came across a photo of the ancient Native American “Big Horn Medicine Wheel” in Wyoming.  While the actual site apparently has amazing astronomical alignments during the summer solstice, it was its shape which struck me.  In August, 2006 I visited a crop circle in Schomberg, Ontario (north of Toronto).  The formation was in sorghum, a tall, thick plant similar to corn (maize) and consisted of a ringed circle with eight connecting spokes, approximately 60 feet (18m) in diameter.  Although its shape was reminiscent of ‘medicine wheels’, I didn’t think much of the term in relation to this crop circle until I saw that photo in the book.  To me, there is a similarity between the Big Horn Medicine Wheel and the Schomberg formation.  Curiously, it was discovered at a place called ‘Puck’s Farm’ – and I later learned that ‘Puck’ is the name of a mischievous nature sprite in Celtic folktales.

Schomberg aerial view as per CCCRN website

Schomberg aerial view as per CCCRN website

Schomberg cc diagram

Schomberg cc diagram

Big Horn Medicine Wheel (Sacred Places of a Lifetime/National Geographic)

Big Horn Medicine Wheel (Sacred Places of a Lifetime/National Geographic)

Middle of the Schomberg crop circle

Middle of the Schomberg crop circle

